What’s really key is what you mix with these. Pictured below is a frozen Watermelon Margarita I made with agave tequila, watermelon, honey, lime juice and a little sea salt. I also made some frozen Strawberry Daiquiris using frozen strawberries, orange juice, lime juice, honey and potato vodka. Daiquiris are supposed to be made with rum, but since that’s made from sugarcane I swapped it for vodka and nobody could tell.
Hard cider is another good option, but make sure it’s gluten-free and be aware of the sugar content. There are some that contain very little sugar while some are loaded with sugar.
Wine is another good choice since it’s gluten-free, but like ciders, not all wines are equal. Red wine is a better choice because the grape skins are left on, and these contain resveratrol, an antioxidant that helps protect against inflammation, diabetes, and even cancer. The reds with the lowest amount of sugar include Pinot Noir, Merlot, and Cabernet Sauvignon.
I realize that not everyone likes red wine, so if you did want to drink a white, the ones with the lowest sugar content are Sauvignon Blanc, Brut Champagne, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Grigio, and Chardonnay.
But of all the alcoholic beverages, beer is considered to be the worst choice. Most beers are made from grains such as wheat and barley and are packed with gluten. Because beer is fermented rather than distilled like spirits, the gluten residue ends up in the beer.
There’s a popular myth that Corona is a gluten-free beer, which even the company refutes on their website. Some told me that Corona must be gluten-free since it doesn’t make them sick like other beers. This is because it’s made from barley and they are likely wheat-intolerant, not gluten-intolerant. Therefore they aren’t suffering from the debilitating side effects of an allergic reaction to wheat when they drink Corona.
There are two types of beer on the market that claim to have no gluten. One is gluten-free beer and one is gluten-removed. For someone with celiac disease, only gluten-free beer should be considered. These are made from grains that are naturally free of gluten, such as sorghum or brown rice.
For those on the Paleo diet who simply wish to avoid gluten, then either is acceptable on that count. But they still contain grain, which contributes to inflammation, and most are loaded with carbs. However, just like beer with gluten, there is at least one gluten-removed light beer with only 3 carbs.